Crunchy (Onion) Chicken

Standard

Do you have a picky eater? How about a child that doesn’t seem to eat anything?  Well, I have two of them.  One day they fancy green beans and the next day they won’t touch them.  Carrots for lunch are cleared off the plate and then two days later left in the lunch box.  I never know if they will eat what I make.  I use to make two meals.  I learned quickly to only make one meal each night.  They can eat it or they can pass, but that is the ONLY dinner that they get!

As I plan my meals I try to include the kids by asking what they would like to have for dinner. Wishful thinking tells me that if I let them help maybe they will be more apt to eat it.  So a few months ago, as I was planning my menu, Cash told me he wanted “crunchy chicken”.  I had no idea what this was but figured it was a new and fancy word for nuggets!  About 4 minutes later he yelled, “Hurry mommy, HURRY!  Crunchy (Onion- we leave that part out) Chicken is on the T.V” I rushed into the room.  There it was. Crunchy Chicken. On the T.V.  The new, favorite, lick your plate clean dinner at the Warren house. The green beans (no butter) and cheesy potatoes (with pureed cauliflour…shhh) were a hit too!

Here is it.

stuff needed

yum!

2 cups (4 oz.)FRENCH’S® Original or Cheddar French Fried Onions

2 tbsp.all-purpose flour

4 (5 oz.)boneless skinless chicken breasts- I cut them into smaller pieces so they are more like nuggets.

1 egg, beaten

Place French Fried Onions and flour into plastic bag. Lightly crush with hands .  Briggs had a blast with this.  It keep him busy for a while. Dump them into a bowl.

Dip chicken into egg; then coat with onion crumbs, pressing firmly to adhere. Place chicken on baking sheet.

Bake at 400°F for 20 min. or until no longer pink in center.

Leave a Reply

